Veteran’s Day 2013

This morning at 11:11 am, I, along with two other students, and seven faculty/staff members at Hendrix College, read war-related poetry at Young-Wise Stadium Plaza in honor of those men and women who gave their lives fighting, those who served our country and are now veterans, those who are still serving this country actively, in the Reserve or the Guard, and of course, those families who support them. Every aforementioned person has made an ultimate sacrifice for our country, and I’d like to thank each and every one of them for all that they have done. They are truly an inspiration to me, and motivate me to fight each and every day for what I believe in. Here’s to you. Happy Veteran’s Day!

The two poems I read are:

“Afghan Christmas Day” by Mark Quince and “I Am With You” by Hannah Carpenter, both written in 2009

http://www.warpoetry.co.uk/Afghanistan%20War%20Poetry.html#Christmas

http://www.warpoetry.co.uk/Afghanistan%20War%20Poetry.html#I_am

IMG_5572 IMG_5577 IMG_5575 IMG_5576

Veterans of Foreign Wars Flower

Veterans of Foreign Wars Flower

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

